Featured Author of the Week –

Shelley McMullen and her book…AUSTIN BOUND – C 2016

Shelly McMullen

First, tell us, in your own words, a little about you.

I currently live in San Antonio Texas with my husband Joe, and my Seeing Eye dog Dolce, a petite German shepherd.   I was raised in Houston. I moved to Arkansas in 1973. I lived in Little Rock until 1996. I have a Bachelor of music education vocal emphasis from Arkansas State University. I have a masters in counseling from the University of Arkansas.

What are your likes, and dislikes?

I love helping people. I love to laugh and spend quality time with those I care about. I detest hot weather.

What are your hobbies?

Reading good books, singing and sports. I love football and basketball. 

What is the message you wish to have your readers take away after reading your book?

I want readers to know that it is possible with God’s help to recover from a devastating crisis or situation. I want them to understand that the book is a reflection of the poor choices I made, and how through seeking God once again my life was transformed. The book also demonstrates some of the trials blind people face.

What motivates you to write?

I believe that God has given me writing as one of my special skills. I know I am good at it, and it would be a sin not to use this skill.  I would write for others if I could find the right opportunity.

What motivated you to write your book?

The Holy Spirit kept nudging me to write about this particular period of my life. The book helped me to realize how far I had actually come since those very days during that sad season. It showed me that even when I mess up royally God always will heal me, and correct things to make them better if I will just ask. It is a beautiful thing.

In what conditions do you write? Do you have a favorite writing space?

I write on my desktop computer which is in my bedroom. Getting started is the hardest part for me. Once I get going  I edit as I write.

When you began your writing process, did you create an outline, or do you simply write from your heart?

I write from my heart, and again I edit as I write.

What is your favorite song?

I actually have two favorite songs:

The Greatest Love by Whitney Houston and You Raise Me Up by Josh Groban.

What is your favorite movie?

Gone with the Wind

What is your favorite book?

No Greater Love by Danielle Steele

Who is your favorite author?

I have two-Danielle Steele and Karin Kingsbury.

What is your favorite food?

Gee! I just love food period. I guess I would have to say that I am truly a sea food lover. My favorite restaurant is Red Lobster. My husband always takes me there for my birthday.

What is your favorite quote?

What goes around comes around.

What is your favorite scripture?

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Philippians 4/13

What is your biggest pet peeve?

People who are habitually late. I am referring to sighted people who drive their own cars. It is difficult and embarrassing to accept rides from people who have this rude habit.

What do you think your best strengths are?

I am kind, considerate, and helpful.  I am organized, and obviously am able to express my thoughts orally or on paper. I love doing speaking presentations. I am also a very good listener.

What do you think are your weaknesses? And, how are you working to make them stronger?

I am a big-time procrastinator. That is my worst weakness. Sometimes I am too sensitive. I am working to improve both of these areas. I am also impatient. I pray about that one daily.

What is your dream for the future?

I have dual certifications as a Christian life coach and Professional life coach.  I have wellness coach certification as well. I am currently working to complete a course as a grief/joy restoration coach with stress relief coaching also in the works. My dream is to have a small coaching practice, working from home.stress

Are you going to write more?

Yes. 

What is your preferred method of communicating with others?

I love email and the telephone. I am also on Facebook and hope to be learning how to navigate LinkedIn with JAWS my speech screen reader very soon.

Do you have a favorite part of your book?

Yes. My favorite part of Austin Bound is the chapters when I married my husband and said goodbye to my little cozy apartment. I also get very excited about my walk to Emmaus that is discussed in the book.

Is there anything you’d like to share with us, that I’ve not covered here?

I have also written a guide dog owner’s manual. It is for prospective guide dog owners, Professionals in the blindness field such as O and M instructors and rehabilitation counselors and for the general public. The book covers everything from how to make a decision to get a guide dog, all the way through retirement of the dog. The book does not favor any particular guide dog school. It does not cover training techniques. It is filled with common sense from my own experiences and contains a multitude of practical advice.  The link to purchase the E book is www.guidedogmanual.weebly.com You will also find my bio accomplishments and services on this website.

 

WOW! Shelley! Thanks, for talking with us today. I for one, am excited to read your book. I’ve given the free portion available on your site a look, and after learning more about you, plan to download it soon.

OK CAMPBELLSWORLD VISITORS!!!

Want to learn more about Shelley’s wonderful book, and see how best to find it? If so, read below for all the details.

Austin BoundAUSTIN BOUND

by Shelley McMullen / C 2016

In e-book and paperback from Amazon and other online sellers.

November 1996 through May 2000 was a very dark time for the author. This book details her challenges, the people involved, and their lasting effects. In hindsight, the author sees herself as having been driven by determination and pride, rather than allowing herself to be guided by God. Now she can see that those years helped her to change and grow, to learn anew how to trust in and go with God.

Full details: http://www.dvorkin.com/smcmullen/

REVIEWS

Shelley has an incredible memory for detail. The further into the book I got, the harder it was to put down. Shelley brings the challenges of a blind woman into focus for us sighted readers. I was touched by the struggles and shed tears of joy in the final chapters, where Shelley overcame so much. I love this book and plan on sharing it with others. I hope the book blesses every single person who reads it and that many, many people read it.
—Dr. Leelo Dianne Bush, founder of the Personal Christian Coaching and Counseling Academy (PCCCA)

An easy read showing the stresses of moves, dogs, and family. Gives a good idea of the ordeals a blind person faces, but in a style that gives a pleasant learning experience. I highly recommend this book for families with individuals that are seeing impaired. It will give you a heads up on what might well be in store.
—From a five-star review on Amazon

SPONSORED BY

www.plaistedpublishinghouse.com 

 

About claire plaisted

Claire Plaisted lives in New Zealand with her husband, three children. She is a Indie Author and runs a company 'Plaisted Publishing House Ltd,' helping Indie Authors get their books online and looking professional. We are happy for people to submit their work for our team to look through.
This entry was posted in Author, Awareness, Independent, Indie Author, Information and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Featured Author of the Week –

  1. Patty says:

    Hi, everyone! Shelley has also asked me to let yall know she loves sports. Basket and Foot-ball.

    Now, yall just got to love that!

    Check out her website, book, and all, and thanks for being here on campbellsworld

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Plaisted Publishing and commented:

    Meet Author – Shelley McMullen

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

