This Is Not My America

Good afternoon, everyone!
It is with great disappointment I write this post. I am, to be perfectly honest, ready to skip the 4TH of July, all together.

Why, do I feel this way? You ask. Well, let me just tell you. Let me, speak on it!

Upset, ashamed, and completely amazed, doesn’t do what I feel justice.

Earlier this afternoon, I was listening to the news on CNN. They said, our current global approval rating is at 22 percent. This is down from 67 percent during the previous presidency. Sad, was my reaction. Ashamed, and a little scared, was and is, my reaction.

Then, I turned on a repeat of a previous This American Life episode, only to listen to a battle between “American Parents” and a School Board, which turned quite violent, and to my dismay, still seems to be going on.

Then, All Things Considered came on, and we began with news headlines, and I hear news of racists behavior all over.

I’m honestly ashamed to be an American. How, can I celebrate our freedom, when in reality our freedoms are being taken from us, each, and every day?

I just cannot imagine, how sad, our founding fathers would be. Or, would they?

As I study history, I become more and more sure, that a lot of our “Founding Fathers” weren’t much better than what we’ve in the White House, right this moment.

Donald Trump is an embarrassment to this nation, and the world. He will bring us literally to our knees before he is done, and even if we got rid of him this day, the damage may take centuries to get rid of, if ever.

How? How? Do you women, and other minority’s support this man? How? How? Does anyone with any decency put up with him?

I’m so sad by the things I hear on the news, I hardly listen to it anymore.

There is no decency in those who report the news much anymore either. I’m even hearing things on programs I always used to love, that disturb me.

Twice this week On Point Radio sounded more like a Talking Head program, with host, and guest talking right over-top one another.

This behavior is so scary. Do we not see where we’re headed? Must history repeat itself yet again?

Must we end up with internment camps, and door to door home searches?

Is there no one willing to stand up to this, and help take the country back?

It is said, the Americans don’t want this, but the voting doesn’t say it. Why are we not electing more of what we want, in mid-term elections? Why are folks allowing this?

Violent protests are not the answer. When you get out, beat people up, burn things down, and destroy, you only prove the “Trumpians” right. Do not do this!

Be educated. Be aware, and be informed.

Be unpowered, March, Speak, Write.

I am so very disgusted by this country. I’m a blind 49-year-old single woman, who is low income, and frightened.

This is not my America!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Is Not My America

  1. Reblogged this on Abbie's Corner of the World and commented:
    I don’t get political here very often, but Patty made a point that I feel needs to be shared, and just so you know, I won’t be celebrating the Fourth of July, either. If you don’t like what you read, I hope you’ll simply agree to disagree, and we can still be friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: This Is Not My America | albertruel

Leave a Reply

