Voice of the Elderly, and disAbled: I’m a People Too

Good early morning, CAMPBELLSWORLD VISITORS!!!
I am awake in the middle of the night, and as usual, my mind is hard at work. I’ve been thinking about all the things that have happened to me, during this sickness, and of all the things I’ve learned while going through it.

I’ve been observing, people’s reactions, or lack there-of, since I’ve been writing about them, and I’ve been taking note of how other persons such as myself, are treated, as well.

The following is a poem I’ve written. I feel, it sums up what a lot of people feel.

Honestly, my thought process on this subject began, during my time at Contact Concern of, Northeast Tennessee, while working with the Reassurance Client Call Program. See: http://contactconcern.org/
When chatting with the Elderly, and disAbled clients, we called, it seemed many of them felt as I do here.

I hope you’ll take the time to read this poem, and consider it’s meaning.

***Disclaimer*** The word ‘you’ is a generalized term, and points to no one person.***

My feelings are important, my thoughts, and opinions too.

My need, to be, heard, and understoood, should not be criticized, by the world. I use, the word you.

It is not always the fact, that things in the end, turned out alright. Sometimes, they really should, just be done right.

Communication is, important. Speaking out, against what is wrong is important too.

It is not my intent to offend, just trying to let folks know, I’m a people too.

If you cut me, I will bleed. Love, and understanding, I do, need.

It is unfair, when I ask for the rules, and only get half an answer, only to find, yet again, wrong, I have done.

I’m tired, of always being the one to say i’m sorry, for things, I feel, say, and do.

Did anyone stop to consider, I’m a people too?

Why do people say… “Call if you need anything.” Only, to hit ignore, when my call, makes their phone ring?

Why do, people say… “Don’t be afraid to speak your mind. Always say, just what you feel.” When, really they, don’t mean it, and their intent, it is not real, and their words don’t mean a thing?

I do not understand double talk. For it, I see no need.

Why with dishonesty, do we feed?

My need to be heard, and understood, should not be, criticized by the world, I use the word you.

Did anyone stop to consider, I’m a people too?

___

Well, folks, I thank you for reading, if you have, and I ask if this speaks to you, please let me know. I also ask, please share. It is really time, the world, became more aware.

Until next time, this is Patty, and King Campbell Lee A.K.A. Bubba saying…
May harmony find you, and blessid be.

This entry was posted in Acceptance, Advertising, Aging, disAbility, Human Services, Independent Living Services, Adult Services, I&R, Help Desk, Helpline, Hotline, Social Worker, Case Manager, Human Resources, Aids, Life, Changes, House, Housing, Apology, Assistance, Attitude, Awareness, Beliefs, Blended Lives, Determination, Disconnected, Discrimination, Doctor, Educated, Effort, Elderly, Experiences, Facing Fear, False face, Family, Fear, Feedback, Opinions, Dialog, Hopes, disAbilities Networking, Reblogging, Healing, Home, Family, living, love., Information, Kingsport Tennessee, Learning, Life lessons, Love, Medical Profession, Multiple disabilities, Multiply disAbled, Musings, New beginnings, Observation, Pagan, Personal growth, Perspectives, Poetry, Positive, Possibilities, prayer, Reality, Reliable, Respect, revelation, Self acceptance, Self care, Silence, Skilled Care, Struggle, determination, Faith, Tips, Truth, Truth, justice, Unwanted, Writing, self improvement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

