Positive Perspective: Hard To Do!

HAPPY EASTER! I hope everyone is having a great day, and if you celebrate this day, may you have a most fabulous holiday!

This morning, I’ve been sending out Cheery messages, and trying to keep my Spirits high, and Attitude good. That has not been an easy task. First off, I coughed all night. Even Campbell is aggravated with me. He says I scared away the Easter Bunny, and he did not get a new Squeaky Toy! He has informed me that as soon as this sickness has passed, I would take him shopping and make amends. I thought I had a pretty good handle on things though, that is until I started cooking Breakfast. I decided that, even though I could not have my normal Chocolate Eggs for Easter Breakfast, I could indeed still eat. I headed for the kitchen phone in hand. I wanted to catch a friend of mine before she headed off to church, and decided I’d chat with her while I cooked myself something to eat.

Everything was going along fine until suddenly! My smoke detector went off. Realizing the heat was too high on the skillet, I turned down the stove eye, and went about putting out the rest of what I’d need for my meal. Then, not only did the smoke detector start again, but its two companions joined in! Campbell ran for parts unknown, as the house began to fill with smoke and noise.

As I turned on exhaust fans, and opened windows to clear the smoke, I began to take slow deep breaths. I wanted to clear my attitude. When the chaos had started I’d almost decided to give up and go back to bed. I knew that to do that, would undo my earlier work to be Positive. As the smoke cleared, I gave thanks that the food I’d been going to cook had not yet been put into the skillet, and went to see how bad the clean up would be. I soon learned all was not lost. Something had been left stuck in the very bottom of the skillet after its last use. It is an Iron Skillet and that can happen. I cleaned everything up, put some water on for tea, and began again to make my Breakfast.

As I sat eating a bit later, I felt proud and very glad that I’d not given up and gone back to bed. Had I done so, I’d have only succeeded in making myself feel worse. I’d have most likely started crying, and given myself a stuffy nose, and headache to go along with my cough. I’d have been feeling sorry for myself, and would have destroyed my good Spirit and Attitude. None of that had taken place, and this is a great success for me. I have a real tendency to give into the depression. Today I am working very hard to not do that. Sometimes having a Positive Perspective is hard, but the benefits sure outweigh the work. For my Effort I got… A Full Tummy, and a Happy Heart.

For now, this is Patty, and King Campbell who says, “I’ll take a Squeaky 🐰🐰🐰 or 🦆🦆🦆 Please?” Saying…
May harmony find you, and blessid be!

This entry was posted in Attitude, Bipolar, rapid cycling, Breakfast, Determination, Doctor, Easter Sunday, Effort, ETS you family physicians, Experience, Fabulosa oh, happiness, Holiday, Home, Family, living, love. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Positive Perspective: Hard To Do!

  1. I’m so happy you prevailed! That is exactly how to go about making positivity your constant companion. As you say, it’s not always easy – in fact it can be really hard sometimes – but keeping in mind the consequences of letting negativity take over can help get you choose positive thinking more often. Good for you!

    Like

    • Patty says:

      For someone who suffers Bipolar Disorder Episodes, this is a must. Just wish I’d learned this behavioral modification stuff earlier in my life. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

