HOW TO GET A HUMMER TO LAND ON YOUR FINGER

If you click the “Source” link below, you will be able to read one of the most fascinating descriptions of Human Interaction with birds I’ve read in some time.

Source: HOW TO GET A HUMMER TO LAND ON YOUR FINGER

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HOW TO GET A HUMMER TO LAND ON YOUR FINGER

  1. Patty says:

    As promised, copied and pasted info…

    From the “Source” link…

    Trouble clicking? Copy and paste this URL into your browser: https://campbellsworld.wordpress.com/2017/04/09/how-to-get-a-hummer-to-land-on-your-finger/

    HOW TO GET A HUMMER TO LAND ON YOUR FINGER

    I’ve noticed that the Hummers go into a feeding frenzy near sunset.I suspect they do it at sunrise too but I’m too lazy to find that out?

    I wondered If I could get one them to land on my finger? Hummers have to be one of the most skittish creatures out there! The slightest movement can make them take off in a blur!

    So I tried to think of a way I could get one these beautiful creatures to land on my finger?Holding ones arm out is difficult after a few minutes.So you need a brace for your arm.I used a monopod but you can use a tripod or a pole.

    I’ve noticed over the last few nights that they go into a feeding frenzy around 7:45pm.So I set up some lights for filming earlier & waited.

    Once I saw them starting to “flock”I turned on the camera & placed my finger near the feeding station. It took couple of minutes for one to land but was worth it.I could feel it’s little heart beating so fast! Their tiny talons are sharp but do not dig in. The hardest thing I found was the cold! Their wings are beating so fast that the breeze coming off chilled my hand!

    The brown hummers with a dark throat patch are the male Rufous.The female are the ones with spots on their throat.

    The Anna’s are the green ones.The males have a throat patch & the females have spots like the Rufous.The Anna’s are much larger than Rufous

    BTW.

    Like

  2. As I write,my little feathered friends are drinking away merrily like drunken sailors.They do warm my heart.Thank you for reblogging!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Patty says:

      You’re welcome. Your blog post was a Treat. Usually people just let the photos they post tell the story, and I suppose that is fine. However, for a Blind Reader, such as self, the descriptive way you wrote about what you’d taken pictures of, was priceless. Having allot of sight impaired, persons on my blog I decided to show them that there are thoughtful deep thinking people in the world.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

