Positive Perspective: Campbell and I Out of Our Comfort Zone and Making a Come-Back B

Hi! All You Awesome CAMPBELLSWORLD VISITORS!!! We’re ever so glad you stopped by. Campbell and I are feeling awesome this day, and we need someone to share this Good Feeling with! We hope this day finds you feeling Happy Healthy, and Well, and if it does not, we Encourage You to pull up a seat, and maybe the reading of this story will Help to Lift Your Spirits!

Campbell and I woke early this AM at the unGodly hour of 3 o’Clock. After an early morning sniff-fest and breakfast, we found ourselves both wanting a bit of a snooze. Around 9 or so we got a call from my VR/Blind Services Worker reminding me we had a meeting at 10 to sign some paperwork, so I rushed round and had just barely showered and dressed before she was knocking on the door. We had what I hope was a productive discussion, and after signing the required forms she was off, and Campbell and I were left with what I assumed would be a long boring day ahead. That however, has turned out not to be the case. As I was reading Email Campbell began to get into one thing after another, and I began to have some learning curve issues with the computer. After about an hour or so of frustration on both our parts, I decided he and I needed to get out and about. So, I began to get us ready for a walk. As I did so, I decided it was time for both of us to push just a bit out of what has become a damaging comfort zone. I have begun to depend just a bit too much on Claud the Quad (My quad cane) because of my recent knee injury, and Campbell has gotten far too used to only walking short distances in harness. Due to his bladder infection, which I believe is finally on the mend. So, I harnessed him up, counted my loose change, and off to our favorite convenience market we went.

We started off at a reasonably slow pace, with Campbell making a couple of pit stops to relieve himself on the way. Now, I have had some who chastise me for allowing park times while in harness, but Campbell has never parked inappropriately, and in fact I have certain routes where I actually encourage such. So, I’ll just say to each his own, and that I am well aware that I may not be able to do such with my next dog, and leave it at that.

As we went along, we enjoyed a really great time together. Even though at one point Campbell tried to convince me to turn around, and I had to stop, make a long leash, and let him sniff about alongside the verge between the walk and street to rest himself a bit, we did make it all the way to the store. Once there I enjoyed a brief chat with the lady behind the counter, picked up a can of Mountain Dew which is something I don’t allow myself often, told her to keep the extra pennies and soon we were out the door and on our way home.

As we made our way back to the house, I noticed that I’d worked up a bit of a sweat, and that Campbell was panting ever so slightly, and I knew I’d made the right decision for both of us. His tail was wagging, and I felt lighter in step as we went along. The tension of the morning was gone, and I really felt good about the walk we were taking.

Once we arrived back at the house, Campbell washed my whole face as I undid his harness and his ail was going round in circles at top speed. To say that made me way happy would be a huge understatement, and although we’re a tad bit tired out, it’s a great tired.

I learned something this day as well. I learned that sometimes it’s a great thing to come out of one’s comfort zone, and to make others do so as well. While I know there are going to be days when I’m going to need that cane, and I am not quite ready to do stairs, large hills, or extremely long distances, I’m making progress, and Campbell, is feeling better and he now knows he can do that walk again. I firmly believe that a dog, just as a human does, can lose their nerve, and self-confidence. So today helped him in a great way.

What’s in store for the rest of the day? Writing, and Reading for me, and a big lazy Nap for my boy.

Until next time this is Patty and the Super Awesome King Campbell, A.K.A. Bubba saying…
May Harmony find you, and Blessid Be.

This entry was posted in Attitude, Comfort Zone and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Positive Perspective: Campbell and I Out of Our Comfort Zone and Making a Come-Back B

  1. Patty says:

    Thanks everyone for reading. I found two mistakes that annoy me here. That B in the title that I thought I deleted, and a missing T on the word Tail. I don’t normally comment and point out mistakes, in fact I’ve heard that’s not a great idea, but I cannot figure out the reason why the B is still in the title, and the T being missing is an issue I’m having with my keyboard allot. Any suggestions from folks would be appreciated. I did proof read, but I guess I missed the missing T. I thought I deleted that darn B and don’t know how it got back in there. O well, I swear no matter how hard I work at it it seems as though I make some silly mistake or other. LOL! Just glad to be out and about for the day, and thanks for the Private Message reader about those two mistakes. 😊 Glad you’re watching.

    Like

Leave a Reply

