Book Review

HI CAMPBELLSWORLD VISITORS!!! ***TRIGGER*** Why do I put that? Because the following is a book that while fiction, deals with the very real problem of suicide. Read, learn, and grow.

Subject: End of Watch: NLS Info Included

Hi, here’s the NLS info and then my thoughts.

End of watch: a novel DB85178

King, Stephen. Reading time: 11 hours, 54 minutes.
Read by David Hartley-Margolin.

Suspense Fiction
Supernatural and Horror Fiction
Bestsellers

In this final book of the trilogy, people who were injured by Brady Hartsfield in Mr. Mercedes (DB 79570) are suddenly and unexpectedly committing suicide. Retired cop Bill Hodges and his PI partner, Holly Gibney, help with the investigation. Meanwhile, brain-injured Hartsfield is still hospitalized. Violence and strong language. Bestseller. 2016.

*** My thoughts…

First of all to read this book you either have to believe in the ability to leap from person to person via your mind, or be willing to suspend your need to believe in everything. (It is after all Fiction)

If you can get passed that, and you don’t mind a bit of gore and strong language in your books, continue.

The second thing is this book should never, and I do mean never be started at 10 in the evening. (You’ll not sleep) When they say suspense, they mean it! I was on the edge of my seat almost from the beginning.

I loved being reintroduced to the carachters. I enjoyed watching the way in which Bill interacted with Holli, who is by all accounts very mentally ill. She has come from a dark disconnected depressing  past, but her mental illness only adds to her ability, For me, the joy   was the way  in which King wrote her carachter, and the way in which he wrote Bill’s Carachter to love and accept her. To me this was better than almost all of it.

Except that is for the tech stuff. That was both fascinating and quite scary. I’ve been toying for a while now with the idea of a book that asked the question of, “What if someone at Apple got it in their head to give Siri just a bit more intelegentce? And what if Siri became able to control people?

Well, this book begins that questioning, and takes it to a whole new level. I was both fascinated and terrified by the concept of a handheld game which could be programmed to convince teens to kill themselves. To me, this was a horrifying thing. I know from my own experiences how very easily this could be done, and that the concept of cluster suicide is very very real.

I, however very much enjoyed how our evil Brady ended up. (Served him right it was quite a crushing experience)

I found myself very moved by a few scenes, and the one that got me the most was when Bill saw the way Peat’s Partner Izzie  was treating Holli disliked it, and would not tolerate it.

All in all other than how Bill ended up at the end I thought the book was very well done, and I guess even the ending wasn’t a horrible way to end a series. I think though, I’d have liked to see how Holli dealt with that a bit more, but then again a series cannot just go on forever.

If you’re a King fan you need to read this book, but you very much need to open your mind, and being a literalist while reading this book simply won’t work.

You also need to have read the other two books before reading this one. Otherwise the carachters  and the plot just won’t jive.

 If I were a person who rated by stars it would get 4 out of 5.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

