Positive Perspective: Snowy Success Mania and More

Happy Snowy Friday! CAMPBELLSWORLD VISITORS! Here’s hoping yall are happy, healthy, and if you’re in the path of the latest winter storm, that you’re safe, and warm as well.

Campbell and I have had a snowy, but successful morning, and other than my battle with a fellow bus rider’s mania, and a bit of my own, we have had a great day.

Campbell and I woke round 4 AM and the loving time we had before we got out of bed was something to behold all on its own. Campbell behaved in a way like no other before. As I began to come awake, I felt him belly creaping up to me, and so I decided to lie still and see if he’d know whether I was awake or not. As it turned out the both of us were trying to out psych the other, and the hell of it was that the dog knew it. He began by creaping up to my hands. He stopped and began to lick them, one finger at a time. I kid you not, the dog cleaned each finger in turn, on both hands, then went back to the first hand he’d begun with, and began to thoroughly clean each hand, both back and front, taking especially good care of the palms. I have no idea why. As he finished, I moved one hand ever so slightly to show him I was awake, and with that movement it was on! And I do mean, on! That dog pounced me, and began to wash my entire face. He even cleaned part of my hair before I finally got control of the situation. I could not get upset with him. HOw can you possibly get upset with someone who loves you that much?

Once I was finally untangled from him I made my way into the bathroom, and took a little time to clean and wake up. When I came out a few minutes later there was Campbell lying quietly in the hall just outside the door. As I passed he jumped up and began snorting and banging his tail onto everything as he passed.

Once Campbell was fed, and my coffee began to brew, we made our way outside. I did not need the TV guys to tell me what the weather was gonna do. The wind let me know all I needed to know. As Campbell and I stepped away from the shelter of the house, it did not take long to decide we’d not be having a leisurely sniff fest. Much as I knew Campbell would’ve loved it, I just could not. The wind was wet and raw, and there were tiny ice pellets swirling furiously round and they stung my face and eyes as I waited for Campbell to be done with his business.
Back inside the house a few minutes later I began to read morning mail, while enjoying a strong and steamy cup of coffee. As I listened to the weather forecast a little later I quickly changed from Slow Mode, to get it in gear get out and back before the snow flies mode.
After a quick shower, I decided I’d just wait until 9:30 catch bus 5 a couple streets from the house. I knew that, although we’d have to transfer at Walmart to get to Food City, I thought that would beat having to wait so long on bus 3. At that corner there is not near the shelter from the wind that you can get standing on a side street with houses all around, so I thought the extra effort would be worth it. Then as I took some recyclables out I realized it had really begun to snow, and while it hadn’t started sticking yet, I was willing to bet that if the temperature dropped a couple degrees that the situation would change and quite rapidly. So, Campbell and I rushed it up a bit and soon were flying down the street toward the 4 way stop and bus 3.

We caught it with just a moment or 2 to spare. Other than the driver not alerting me to the fact that someone was in the seat designated for disabled riders, before we ran into them and learning later as we switched seats at the station that most likely the one sitting there was not disabled at all the first part of our journey was pretty uneventful.

Then as we began to take on new passengers at the station we had an encounter that confirmed a couple of things for me. 1. There are holes in the health care system in this state big enough to run a truck through, and 2. My stress mania is at times still quite easily triggered. Not to mention that I learned there are a few folks with issues far worse than any of mine ever believed they were. We encountered a man on the bus whom we’ve seen many times before, but I do not believe I’ve ever before seen him in this shape. First off he said his usual, “Wow I’ve not seen you in a heck of a long time” speech. Now, this guy and I run into each other at least 2 times a month if not more, but I get short term memory loss, so I just always remind him of our names, where Campbell comes from etc. Usually this satisfies him and he trots off into another subject. This morning was no different, and I settled in to read a few FB posts while we rode along.

Well, my peace was short lived. The man began to talk about his recent illness, and while I was glad to hear he’d lived through what sounded like a horrific ordeal, and told him so, I also found myself slightly losing my composure at his descriptive details of his illness and its symptoms and suddenly said, “Dude! TMI! Stop! We do not wish to hear this.” He kept going and I lost it a bit more, “Dude! I’m glad you lived through all that, but if you don’t hush that could all be for not.” Thanks be to all the Gods and Goddesses at that moment his cell rang, and blessid be to the lady who called.

As he launched into telling the lady on the phone another story I sat back, took a deep breath and said to myself, “OK worst part’s over, now let’s get ourselves into the store, have some breakfast and a game of Blindfold RSGames” That was not quite what happened, but turns out, what did happen was awesome!

When we got to the store, first thing we found was that the snow had really begun to come down. Campbell snorted happily as we made our way from the bus stop into the store, and it did my heart good to see him enjoying himself as he guided me perfectly through the parking lot across the drive and to the door.

Once inside, I heard them paging someone to the front to assist before we ever reached the desk, and I decided to shorten my plans. Rather than giving the shopper a list, picking up my breakfast and going upstairs to visit with our friend Dave, I decided we’d shop, pick up the breakfast order I’d called in and go back home before the temps dropped and we got stranded.

We shopped quickly, getting everything on our list, and soon we were making our way back out to the stop, groceries, and breakfast in hand. Just as we began our way into the parking lot, the lady helping me said, “There’s the bus.” A moment later the voice of a good friend, and driver spoke up and I learned that the pickup van for overflow riders was there, and that Campbell and I could be dropped at our driveway. This made me extremely happy. I’d gotten a couple of heavy items and wasn’t looking very forward to carrying that heavy pack the 3 or so streets from the stop to the house.

After we were tucked safely back inside our warm house a little later, groceries put away, breakfast eaten, and Campbell walked, I realized just how very fortunate I really am.
I have a great town in which to live. Filled with awesome people who are glad to lend a hand when I need it, and I’ve a great warm place to live.

As I sit here now, wrapped in my robe, typing this to you, I feel safe, satisfied, and warm. For NOW this is good, and since I am practicing being more in the NOW I’ll take it.

For NOW! This is Patty and the Snow loving Seeing Eye Dog King Campbell Lee AKA Bubba saying…
May harmony find you, and blessid be.

This entry was posted in Acceptance, Beliefs, Bipolar, rapid cycling, Cleansing, Cohabitation, Determination, Donation, Druid, Effort, Experience, Experienced, Experiences, Freedom, Friends, Goodness, Gratefulness, Guide Dogs, Assistance, Grocery Store, Shopping, Observation, Helpful, Polite, Staff, Bus, Bus Driver, Route, Traffic, Parkinglots,, Healing, Information, Informed, Learning, Love, Loven bonding loyalty faithfulness, Magic, Memoirs, Mental illness and monsters, Multiple disabilities, Musings, Observation, Observations, Pagan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

