God Care About the Little Things

Hi! Campbell’s world visitors I hope you will read this post. Thank you to Claire for blogging this on my behalf and the behalf of the author. God for sure does take care of the little things. Tonight I am praying he will take care of my wrist. Took a fall earlier and seem to have sprained it. I am taking care of it best I can tail morning. So I am putting my hand in gods hands. Thank you have a blessed day. Make sure to let Penny and I know if you like this, or any of her other post. It is extremely encouraging to writers when we hear back about our work. Of course we don’t expect it all the time but once in a great while is very much appreciated.

Thank you for reading and have a great day.

God Cares About The Little Things

By
Penny Fleckenstein

It was Monday night. In our community, that means Monday Night Meal Ministry.

“They’re having sloppy joe’s and stuffed shells and salads tonight. Are you coming?” Gayle asked excitedly over the phone.

“Well, I don’t know.” I paused.

“Jill says they’re going to have a clothing drive afterwards. I’ve got to go to that.”

I tried to come up with an excuse as to why I couldn’t go. Beth wasn’t with me that night. Dinner I could do without Beth but clothing selection? At least with her color blindness, she can read sizes. I really wanted to stay home. It was hot, I was tired and … “Yeah, I’ll be ready in a few minutes. I just have to change my clothes, and I’ll be right out.”

A few minutes passed and Gayle met me outside my house. Bryanna and I walked with her to the church in the center of town.

I’m always greeted very warmly at the community dinner. It makes me feel like a celebrity. I get compliments on my clothes, my smile, and just being there. When I’ve been absent, people stop me on the street and tell me they missed me. Beth says it’s penny fan club central. I tell her that it’s really her they’re complimenting because she’s so vibrant.

It’s not the food I go for–it’s the socialization. They rarely have something vegan. Zachary enjoys it, and it gets me out of the house. Dinner is free. I tend to eat vegetarian except when they serve chicken and dumplings or chicken and noodles. I do love both.

But, Zachary didn’t come with us that night, and there was nothing vegan. I didn’t have Beth with me nor Gabe and Moriah. I was questioning myself and wondering why I showed up. I had plenty of healthy food at home. At home, it’s easier to drink just water and eat healthy. Besides, how was I going to look for clothes? I prayed that God would send someone over. Couldn’t be too hard of a request to fulfill since my church was hosting the dinner.

Within a few minutes, my prayer was answered. Bonnie smiled and introduced herself to me, “Remember me, I used to drive you to lunch bunch with the friendship group? I go to your church now.”

Really? I hadn’t seen Bonnie in at least four years. There was catching up to do and some reacquainting. When I asked her if she’d help me select clothes, she seemed happy to help despite the overwhelming heat in the room where the clothes were located. Bonnie was so helpful. She gathered a large bagful. I wasn’t done with the selection process when my cell phone rang.

“Where are you?” Esther inquired, “I want to talk to you.”

I told her I was at the church in the center of town where the community dinners are held. I told her about the free clothes. She could pick me up and take me home. Within minutes, Esther came with her two children. Bonnie stayed with me until I left with Esther.

As Bryanna and I climbed into Esther’s car, she said, “Penny, how were you planning to get home with these clothes? Were you going to walk home?”

The thought never occurred to me, I said, “I guess so. I didn’t really think about that.” I admitted sheepishly.

She said, “Penny, any time you need a ride, you call me. I’ll come pick you up and take you.”

I thanked her for the offer and smiled to myself. It had not crossed my mind as to how I was going to get home. Obviously, God cares about the little things. He provided me with help to select my clothes and help to get them home. He knew what I needed. God is good!

**

God cares about the little thingsthe parking spot,

the ride home, a drink of water on a hot day
When you miss a detail and feel you’ve got it covered
He’s got it covered better
He’s God, and in the small details, he’ll show you who He is.

“Dream big,” I hear, “our God is not too small.
He’s got His hand on your life and will not disappoint.
Dream big, He’ll help you reach your goals
He’ll guide you, rescue you, and keep you on the path
Because he cares about the little things even when you forgot
It’s true, our God cares about us all.”

I’ve prayed for Him to hold off the rain until we’re comfortably in the car
I’ve prayed for him to direct us when we’re lost and show us where to go
He’s with us everywhere no matter how near or far
for He cares about the little things even when we slip so travel on the

road with Him, make sure you plan to have Him on your trip.
For he softens the heart of strangers brings new friends your way
He helps everything go smoothly especially when you pray
but, he even cares about the little things the ones that slip your mind
He’s the best traveling companion, please don’t leave God behind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

